the new year post

Good morning to all on this first day of 2012! I hope you all enjoy this first morning, and that as the days of this year turn into weeks and months, any goals you set last night will be put into effect and met.

I’m not one for New Years resolutions, and to be honest I didn’t even think about them until right now as I am typing this, but my mind is still set on March 18th when I am to be running the Los Angeles Marathon in honor of baby Heath. I am sticking with that goal and will continue to set more as I get into the meat of the year and have a better idea of where my life is headed. Please see the sidebars to the right of this post to read more about how you can help me support Heath through running this marathon.

2011 turned out to be one of those years that makes me laugh, thinking back on it all. I have been put in circumstances that I never expected to be in, and have been living each day one at a time, because that is all there is room for in the thought process of everything that is happening.

July: After traveling home from a trip to Los Angeles and being awake at a late hour of the night that I typically am sleeping, it was jokingly suggested by my mother over the phone that I sign up for the Los Angeles Marathon, with the intent to raise money for Love Without Boundaries. (The “jokingly suggestion” being because I was not a runner.) I was just tired enough to say “ok!” And two days later my name was on the roster. Once again, please see the sidebars to the right of this post, or click here. I would love your support as I pursue this endeavor.

August: Moving from Lexington, Kentucky to Los Angeles, California was one of the biggest changes in my life this past year. I’m a country girl at heart, I prefer a slow-paced lifestyle, and I hate driving in traffic. But to LA I went, and by God’s grace I found a job just a month after arriving.

November: Watching my parents pursue another adoption, and traveling to China to bring Levi home was another huge change in my life in 2011. This was entirely unexpected by all of us, particularly the fact that my parents were called to adopt a 14-year-old boy.

December: Arriving back in Los Angeles from China, I found that my employers decided to move to Florida. Five days later, they were there, and two days after that, I found myself in Florida as well. I never expected that a move to Los Angeles would turn into a move to southern Florida, and I don’t anticipate this being a long-term move, but at the same time only time will tell where I am supposed to be.

With all the unexpected changes in 2011, I’m looking at where I’ll be in 2012 just a day at a time. I’ll keep on steadily training for the marathon, including heading out for a run in just a few minutes. That is all that is certain now, we’ll see what else the year brings as the months go by.

Happy New Year from the Witzers!

Leave a Reply

