Sunday CSA!

Today I picked up my first bag of local organic fruit and veggie goodness. Last week’s post explains why I joined a CSA, and today I couldn’t be more happy about it!

curly kale, red leaf lettuce, arugula, onions, bok choy, fava beans, zucchini, cherries, plums, nectarines, tomatoes

bok choy

arugula

glorious fruit!

onions

We picked up the food at noon today, so of course I had to incorporate some of it into lunch. I had Sunshine Burgers in the freezer (they were on sale at Whole Foods over Memorial Day weekend, otherwise the price isn’t worth it), so we cooked them up and added lettuce, kale, and tomatoes for a delicious vegan meal.

We also shelled the fava beans and boiled them for a few minutes, as suggested by an email I got from Savraw this morning. I’ve never had fava beans before- they were quite good, they reminded me of peas. We just tried a few, and I’ll be having the rest with lunch tomorrow.

On Tuesday (a day off work!) I will be attempting to make kale chips; if anyone has any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated- I’ve never tried it before.

I’ll be trying my best to savor the fruit and hopefully spread it over the entire week. It will be a stretch- I LOVE fruit! (I am most excited about the cherries! Since I typically go out of my way to avoid non organic produce, cherries are not at the top of my shopping list due to their cost.) As for the rest of the veggies, I suppose I’ll buy a few supplementary types and make a some stir fries this week. I am not a huge fan of lettuce, does anyone have any suggestions as to how to use it before it goes bad? I would like to eventually purchase a blender so I can make green smoothies whenever I have a surplus of leafy things.

What was the best part of your most recent CSA bundle? What meals are you planning to make with your fresh produce?
5 thoughts on “Sunday CSA!

  1. What a great way to start off the CSA season! All of my favorite fruits…cherries, nectarines, plums…nice 🙂

    I would love for you to link up to this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/31/whats-in-the-box-28/. There is a great kale chip recipe that you might like.

    For the lettuce, here is a tip from a participant that seems to be super useful! http://changingmydestiny.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/how-to-extend-the-life-in-your-csa-veggies/. As far as ideas on how to use it…I usually make salads, but here are a few variations that help to keep things interesting…http://eatdrinkbetter.com/2012/03/28/lettuce-recipes-not-salad/.

    Hope to see you at the link party 🙂

    • Yes, I am so happy with the fruit selection!
      I’m all linked up to your party for the week, and will be spending hours, if I’m not careful, reading what everyone else has to say!
      Thanks for all the great info!

  2. It’s hard to tell from the photo but I think that what you have labeled as arugula might really be mizuna. Both are peppery but I don’t care for mizuna raw.

    • I think you’re right! They added it at last minute, and I couldn’t catch what the “extra” was anytime they said it out loud, so I just assumed arugula. I’ve never actually heard of mizuna. I’m planning to make some leafy stir fry today and am just going to throw it in with the rest.

Leave a Reply

