muffin update, summer update

Well friends, if you read my last post, you know that I attempted gluten-free, vegan muffins. I experimented with a recipe I found online, making some changes including adding an avocado, lowering the baking temperature, and using a different amount of baking soda and baking powder. This experiment did NOT go exactly as planned, but in the end I am still calling it a win.

After the muffins were in the oven for an hour and a half, at varying temperatures between 280-350, and a knife inserted in the center of them was STILL not coming out clean, I turned off the oven and just left them sitting there for a while with the oven door closed.

After another half hour or so of staying in the cooling oven I took them out and put them onto a plate to cool a bit more. I cut one in half with my fingers crossed, but it was to no avail. They simply did not cook through. They were not going to cook through. So, I decided to be thankful that I used only vegan ingredients and I bit in to one.

It was almost like biting in to a jelly-filled donut, except with applesauce! Warm applesauce (and some other batter, yes) gushed out of the cooked parts of the muffin and it tasted WONDERFUL. So, there you have it. Applesauce-filled muffins. That’s what I ended up making. I am pleased with them. And I will be attempting them again, but with the correct amount of baking soda and baking powder, and perhaps no avocado, and starting at the correct baking temperature to begin with. Until then, I will continue to enjoy my applesauce-filled gluten free vegan carrot avocado muffins.

Posts after today may very well become few and far between for the next two or three weeks. I’ll be out of the country, celebrating my sister’s marriage(!!!!!!) I have a layover at London Heathrow while on my way to Belfast. This layover is on the day of the opening ceremony of the Olympics. Perhaps I’ll have some stories to tell about that? I have NO idea how these travels are going to go, given the state of London right now.

So, until my next CSA pickup in three weeks, perhaps you’ll find a post or two about the beauty of Northern Ireland; I can’t wait for this trip back!

2 thoughts on “muffin update, summer update

  1. Pingback: a day for recipes | Rebekah Rae

Leave a Reply

